Arcane Fortune Forums

Discussion of Arcane Fortune

You are not logged in.

#1 2020-10-01 09:34:34

Tchey
Member
From: Terre ?
Registered: 2020-08-04
Posts: 47
Website

Verstion 2.0 QoL and small feedbacks

Hello,

One small QoL i believe, would be to have the "go to next unit" on one single key, instead of "m/g/n".

Last edited by Tchey (2020-10-01 14:15:48)


* Jeux1d100 ? Le blog Jeux1d100.net sur les jeux indécents et Linux, et la chaîne YouTube *

Offline

#2 2020-10-01 09:39:09

Darin
Administrator
Registered: 2020-08-04
Posts: 73

Re: Verstion 2.0 QoL and small feedbacks

Good idea, thanks--I put it on my to-do list!

Offline

#3 2020-10-01 14:23:08

Tchey
Member
From: Terre ?
Registered: 2020-08-04
Posts: 47
Website

Re: Verstion 2.0 QoL and small feedbacks

I renamed the topic to be more open.

Would be nice too to have some space between the GUI right side of the screen.
Now it seems to be 0 pixel and is very close to the border of the actual monitor.
Letters even reflect on the plastic border of my monitor.
-> Maybe move the GUI just 2-3 pixels away from the borders ?

Also the mini map becoming larger on mouse over is nice, but then to have the mini map small again, i need to move the mouse cursor out of the minimap, "far away".
I can use RMB to close it, but the it opens again very fast if i move the mouse.
-> Maybe add a delay before the minimap goes bigger ?

Last edited by Tchey (2020-10-01 14:23:24)


* Jeux1d100 ? Le blog Jeux1d100.net sur les jeux indécents et Linux, et la chaîne YouTube *

Offline

#4 2020-10-01 14:41:33

Tchey
Member
From: Terre ?
Registered: 2020-08-04
Posts: 47
Website

Re: Verstion 2.0 QoL and small feedbacks

If you can, i’d like a new cursor mode, the one you can modify with ` key.

Arrow Keys MV
Screen
Cursor
+Float

The screen would stay on cursor, but also allow for 10 tiles move without moving the screen.
So if you just move the cursors a few tiles around, the screen stays put, but i go further, the screen follows.
Like some top down ARPG to avoid too much movement when you just move arounds a few blocks.



Also, would be nice to see coordinates (x,y) of the cursor or selected unit.
When building long walls or road etc, it would be easier to coordinate orders, or build "pretty".
Now i often miss a few tiles too short or too far, when i try to draw example a L shape long walls with one unit doing the _ and another doing the I part.

Last edited by Tchey (2020-10-01 14:50:14)


* Jeux1d100 ? Le blog Jeux1d100.net sur les jeux indécents et Linux, et la chaîne YouTube *

Offline

#5 2020-10-01 23:06:16

Darin
Administrator
Registered: 2020-08-04
Posts: 73

Re: Verstion 2.0 QoL and small feedbacks

Thanks for the additional thoughts -- I added them all to my to do list -- so you'll see them in the game soon enough.

To clarify, about the float mode, my understanding is you are suggesting this behavior for the text cursor, ▒, correct, and not the mouse cursor?

I think it would be a good option for the text cursor, but I fear having that behavior with the mouse could be annoying:
Because it'd result in the game moving the map view northward every time you click on the top-level menu. Although maybe I'm not thinking of something? I feel like doing it for the text cursor only would be sufficient?

Offline

#6 2020-10-02 07:55:41

Tchey
Member
From: Terre ?
Registered: 2020-08-04
Posts: 47
Website

Re: Verstion 2.0 QoL and small feedbacks

Darin wrote:

To clarify, about the float mode, my understanding is you are suggesting this behavior for the text cursor, ▒, correct, and not the mouse cursor

Yes, the mouse would be too annoying indeed.
Mouse pointer should (almost always) be very precise and immediate, according to me and i and we.

Also, i play inside a Terminal to have a font i like (square 8x8), as i don’t like when the screen is stretched (often in ascii the vertical is long while the horizontal is short).
Is there a way to change the font from the ncurse version too ? I see a font folder with one font inside, but didn’t find an option to modify the font the game starts with.

Last edited by Tchey (2020-10-02 07:58:12)


* Jeux1d100 ? Le blog Jeux1d100.net sur les jeux indécents et Linux, et la chaîne YouTube *

Offline

#7 2020-10-02 08:46:30

Darin
Administrator
Registered: 2020-08-04
Posts: 73

Re: Verstion 2.0 QoL and small feedbacks

Yeah, I had noticed you played with square fonts in your screenshots.

Is there a way to change the font from the ncurse version too ? I see a font folder with one font inside, but didn’t find an option to modify the font the game starts with.

I suspect you mean the SDL version (arcane_fortune_linux.sh)? That's the version where the font file is loaded (and the game has more flexibility with what it can display and the types of mouse information it can use).
    (The ncurses version *is* the one that runs in your terminal emulator and the one where you set the font to be shown on a square grid)

For the SDL version: there is not currently an option to change the font from within the game, but for now you could replace fonts/OxygenMono-Regular.ttf if you have another TrueType font that you like (the game will not search for other files in that directory, so make sure you use that exact file name). Whatever you replace it with: it should be monospace or the game won't display correctly, and may even crash.

There are a lot of free fonts on https://fonts.google.com/ and you can filter it for monospace.
If you find something or already know of one under some type of free license, let me know and I can bundle it in future versions and add an option to change the font in the game.

Another option, that I'm not very eager to do, but could if it's something you feel ultra-strongly about, is to have an option to custom set the grid size in the SDL version.

Last edited by Darin (2020-10-02 08:49:11)

Offline

#8 2020-10-06 15:16:35

lecom
Guest

Re: Verstion 2.0 QoL and small feedbacks

I like this game's concept, it reminds me of something between dwarf fortress and edigotia. You should especially check out edigotia because it's a very beautiful strategy game, sadly abandoned.

Following things have been bothering me (arcane_fortune_linux.sh for reference):
-When zooming out to the maximum in fullscreen mode, the horizontally repeating "globe" map thingy sticks to the upper side to the screen instead of the middle, which kinda makes it difficult to use it
-Basic unit UI and controls probably need reworking, it's difficult to get a unit to move far distances without zooming out and back in all the time. Maybe make use of the right mouse button like many strategy games do.
-Apparently no way to find idle units? Other than that one camera refocus when a unit becomes idle?
-Ocassional crashes ingame, I think especially when scrolling through menu entries; if any logs are written I can post them, haven't found any however
-I have ended up with a savegame that wil always crash the game at Jan 11: https://www.dropbox.com/s/ca20zodfxu8gv … _game?dl=1

I can recommend angelscript as an alternative to lua to consider for scripting. It has a static typing system and is less error prone.

#9 2020-10-06 22:48:34

Darin
Administrator
Registered: 2020-08-04
Posts: 73

Re: Verstion 2.0 QoL and small feedbacks

lecom, thanks for your thoughts. I've made a note of these. I like that Angelscript's syntax is so close to C/C++.

I've taken a look at the file you sent, and see where it's crashing--shouldn't be a difficult fix. I may wait to push the bug fix onto the next release in several months, unless you really want it sooner. [I don't know if you care but Rust code, when compiled with debug symbols, gives you a full stack trace with line numbers whenever the code panics. Light years easier than using C/C++ in my opinion.]

As to selecting idle units: I believe you might want to use the key sequence "m", "g", "n". Which opens the menu, goes to the go menu and then selects the next idle unit... Tchey earlier in this thread suggested it be mapped to a single key, and I agree. Something I'll change in probably the next release.
The other thing you can do is go to "Accounting" -> Brigades. That window shows you all your units, the action they're working on and other basic info. Pressing enter will take you to the unit.

>-Basic unit UI and controls probably need reworking, it's difficult to get a unit to move far distances without zooming out and back in all the time. Maybe make use of the right mouse button like many strategy games do.
Good idea. What do you think about having the middle click cancel the action? I like having it as a mouse action in addition to the escape key.

Offline

#10 2020-10-07 11:32:50

Tchey
Member
From: Terre ?
Registered: 2020-08-04
Posts: 47
Website

Re: Verstion 2.0 QoL and small feedbacks

Darin wrote:

>-Basic unit UI and controls probably need reworking, it's difficult to get a unit to move far distances without zooming out and back in all the time. Maybe make use of the right mouse button like many strategy games do.
Good idea. What do you think about having the middle click cancel the action? I like having it as a mouse action in addition to the escape key.

With a rebind option, default being MMB, could be a nice addition.

What we need, is an option to keep control when zoom out.
So i select a unit, zoom out, i can still give orders.


* Jeux1d100 ? Le blog Jeux1d100.net sur les jeux indécents et Linux, et la chaîne YouTube *

Offline

#11 2020-10-07 19:50:19

Darin
Administrator
Registered: 2020-08-04
Posts: 73

Re: Verstion 2.0 QoL and small feedbacks

Yeah, definitely, both about the rebinding and about the zoom.
I'd like to eventually allow you to assign movement orders even if you're zoomed out. It would be a little inaccurate because there isn't obviously a one-to-one correspondence between zoomed out levels and the most zoomed in level, but sometimes this doesn't matter, if all you care about is getting a unit into a particular region.

Offline

#12 2021-01-21 23:03:52

Darin
Administrator
Registered: 2020-08-04
Posts: 73

Re: Verstion 2.0 QoL and small feedbacks

Some of these ideas are now in v0.3.0. Of the ones easier to miss, I'd like to mention:

  • ';' now jumps to the next unmoved unit. this can be changed in game/config/keyboard.txt, look for the 'center_on_next_unmoved_unit' entry

  • There now should be a 3px black padding on the sides of the screen. My monitor has a flat profile so this looks indistinguishable to me, but maybe it's noticeable to you.

Offline

#13 2021-01-24 11:34:18

Tchey
Member
From: Terre ?
Registered: 2020-08-04
Posts: 47
Website

Re: Verstion 2.0 QoL and small feedbacks

Hi, nice thanks,

I will test 0.3.0 when i find some time.

Last edited by Tchey (2021-01-24 11:35:51)


* Jeux1d100 ? Le blog Jeux1d100.net sur les jeux indécents et Linux, et la chaîne YouTube *

Offline

#14 2021-01-24 17:51:25

Darin
Administrator
Registered: 2020-08-04
Posts: 73

Re: Verstion 2.0 QoL and small feedbacks

Great, thanks -- always interested in & appreciate your feedback.

Definitely I had wanted v0.3.0 to be a somewhat larger release, however, I feel like it might have ended up with fewer new features in v0.3.0 than v0.2.0. Just letting you know so you don't go in expecting a much larger release than this was smile

Offline

Quick reply

Write your message and submit
Are you human or robot?

Checking if this is requested by a real person and not an automated program.

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB